Life Lately

{tulips, beautiful weather for walking, freshly-cut irises, strawberry buds, baby smiles, Brussels sprouts + burritos, growing basil, perfectly-dressed salads with other eats, a visit to my alma mater, skirt time, neighborhood cat, dogwood petals, lone tulip before + after, sunday brunch, target candy samples, belted scarf}

This week was a wild one. We have a big event coming up soon at work, plus lots of little things that kept popping up and seemed to fill my days more than usual. It was super-productive, but really exhausting. This may sound a bit dramatic, but it was all I could do to keep breathing, moving forward, and remembering all of the good things, both at work and in the world outside. Added to this was a summit I’d been helping to plan at my alma mater, which went from Friday afternoon through very late Saturday. It was energizing and inspiring and went a thousand times better than I’d ever planned. I also got to see old friends, meet new ones, and stay with one of my besties, all of which were good for my soul. I made the impromptu decision to drive back home after the final event on Saturday (instead of staying one more night) and it was so good to sleep in my own bed and smooch on my wife. Although I wasn’t able to sleep in on Sunday, we had a great time going out for a nice leisurely brunch, and then I grocery shopped, loafed around, and was treated to a delicious dinner cooked by the Mrs!

Speaking of Mrs., I actually need to start referring to her as Doctor, since she passed her dissertation defense on Monday! Words can’t describe how incredibly proud I am of her and how excited I am for her to be making her dreams a reality. Much celebrating commenced on Monday evening with friends and now we’re just biding a bit of time before we celebrate her graduation. Exciting times in our household! I’m just hoping that this week is more calm and relaxing than the last. Fingers crossed for that for y’all, too!

How about you? What’s new?

Tagged

Leave a Reply

