Weekly Planning: 4/29-5/5

Happy Sunday!

I feel like I say this all the time, but this week really did fly by. Eating went really well until Friday night, when take-out Mexican sounded better than a salad. Weird, huh? And then yesterday we followed up an event I had for work with a trip to my favorite Raleigh restaurant for margaritas, fried appetizers, and BLTs (at least we split a meal, right?). I didn’t track those meals, either, but I’m back on track this morning with a healthy smoothie and the MyFitnessPal website up in my browser. Here’s to a fresh start this week!

Since I didn’t take any photos (sorry!), here’s a run-down of what was in this week’s CSA box:

  • 1 pint strawberries
  • 1/4 pound arugula
  • 1/4 pound lettuce mix
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 bunch scallions
  • 1 bunch green garlic

To use up the majority of this, we’ll have some big salads for several meals, and then I’ll probably sautee up most of the rest of the veggies to have on my egg sandwiches in the mornings. Waste not, want not!

Even though we’re getting a whole bunch of produce on a weekly basis, we still needed to do a massive trip to the co-op grocery store this past week to replenish all sorts of basics. While they tend to be over-priced on lots of packaged items, they have great deals in the bulk bin section, so we try to keep our pantry well-stocked. We spent a good chunk of this month’s budget on things like dried beans, brown rice, quinoa, steel cut oats, and olive oil. Since I did a clean-out and reorganization of our kitchen cabinets this week, I’ll post about that separately to show how we store it all.

Aaaanyway, here’s what we’ve got planned for this week:

Unsurprisingly, we’ve got another busy week coming up, so I’m going to spend time later today doing glamorous things like prepping servings of carrots + hummus, chopping cantaloupe, and making Mama Pea’s black bean burgers for lunches this week, per a request from the Mrs.

On the exercise front, last week went pretty dang well even though, as usual, I deviated pretty far from the original plan. No worries, though! Thursday I was struck by a cleaning bug and spent my lunch break (working from home) and most of the evening cleaning, organizing, and rounding up items to donate to the thrift store. Lots of heavy lifting involved!

Here’s how the week went down:

  • Sunday: Swimming, 40 minutes
  • Monday: Sprint/walk intervals, recumbent bike
  • Tuesday: Walking on incline, elliptical, recumbent bike
  • Wednesday: BodyPump (on my own)
  • Thursday: Cleaning
  • Friday: Rest day
  • Saturday: Swimming, 65 minutes

I went swimming for the first time this year and enjoyed it so much that I went again yesterday! I managed to go even further, swimming just over a mile, which made me pretty proud of myself. I’m hoping to swim at least once a week until I get sick of it, haha.

Here’s the plan for this week, which is all about squeezing in exercise whenever possible:

I’d been doing high-intensity interval training (HIIT) several times a week earlier this year and got totally burned out on it. Since I haven’t been able to make it to BodyPump class the past few weeks, I’ve been craving some more weight lifting and strength training in my life, so this is the perfect way to get it in. Plus I sort of love just going to the gym and playing around on different equipment to improvise a workout. We’ll see how it goes!

What about y’all? Making anything exciting for meals this week? Any fun exercise ideas I should know about?

Tagged

One thought on “Weekly Planning: 4/29-5/5

  1. Alyson says:

    I admire your planning & organization skills! I feel like I’ve gotten really off track with both diet and exercise lately, so I’m glad I stumbled across your blog today. Inspirational! I am now committing myself to spending some of this afternoon on meal planning. I want to try my hand at the black bean burgers. 🙂 Though I will say – I have no idea how you eat the same meals all week. Whenever I try to do that, I often get bored – I give up and eat out by the end of the week.

Leave a comment